Today is Tuesday, March 17, 2026
Hop-on Hop-off Harbor Cruises are not running today.

new london

New London Harbor Light

Experience breathtaking views from the New London Harbor Light, where you can see more lighthouses than from any other spot on Earth! 

In 1801, Architect Abisha Woodward of New London completed construction of the new (current) lighthouse, an 89-foot tapered octagonal tower with 19-inch-thick walls at the base. Originally left unpainted, the tower was whitewashed some time in the mid-19th century. It is the oldest and tallest lighthouse on Long Island Sound. Woodward previously had designed Bald Head Lighthouse, at Cape Fear, NC (1794), and subsequently the Lynd Point Lighthouse, in Old Saybrook, CT, and Faulkner’s Island Light in Guilford, CT, both in 1802; Five Mile Point Lighthouse in New Haven, CT, and Little Gull Light in Southold, NY, in 1805; and Black Rock Harbor Lighthouse in Bridgeport, CT, in 1808 — all in the ‘federal octagonal’ style. Only Woodward’s NL Harbor and Faulkner’s Lights remain today.

Today, the lighthouse is managed by New London Maritime Society. Tours occur over the weekend all year long.

Address: Maritime Society, 150 Bank St, New London, CT 06320
Phone number: (860) 447-2501
Hours: Tours operate on Saturday & Sunday by appointment only for up to five people. Book online. 

Hygienic Art

Hygienic Art is a landmark building housing a year-round gallery space & arts cooperative with an outdoor event stage.The building is an integral part of New London’s history. It was built on the foundations of colonial buildings that were destroyed in the burning of New London led by Benedict Arnold and British troops during the Revolutionary War in 1783. The current building was originally built as a whaling provisioning store and crews’ quarters in 1842 and became the Columbia Hotel in 1878.

In 1919 the Swanson Brothers started a restaurant in the building. In 1931 the restaurant became the Hygienic Restaurant and Delicatessen after the Sigros family, the Swanson brothers’ partners who purchased the business. The name is derived from the Greek mythological god, Hygia, the god of health and cleanliness. One can only assume that at a time of no health inspectors and crude refrigeration, the name Hygienic was used to advertise the purity of the food sold there. The Hygienic Restaurant became a popular 24-hour eatery with a catering kitchen and rooms on the upper floors. From the 1930’s through the 1960s it was very popular and was the place to go for late night dining and Sunday breakfasts. President Roosevelt, when at a train stop at New London station, asked about a good place to lunch and was brought through the alleyways to the Hygienic Restaurant. Al Capone was also said to have dined there.

In 1961 acclaimed Vogue Photographer Diane Arbus visited the Hygienic to shoot Jack Dracula, a tattoo artist and resident. The photo was published in Vogue and now is a part of her photographic legacy. In the early 1970’s as the wrecking ball took its toll on the residential and business community in downtown New London and de-urbanization was the trend, the Hygienic Restaurant attracted street people, sailors and denizens of the night. Sailors on shore leave were purported to have frequented the alleged brothel on the upper floors and in 1969 the cocktail lounge was listed in the National Directory of Gay Bars in America. In 1979, local fine artists who started a studio community in downtown New London began having yearly non-juried art exhibitions at the Hygienic Restaurant – modeled after the Salon des Independants movement in Paris – in an effort to bring fine art to the common man. The exhibition continued until the restaurant closed in 1986 and was bought by developers.

The Hygienic Art Show continued in other venues while the building lay vacant and was slated for demolition in 1996 to make a bank parking lot. Nine days away from demolition the volunteer artists who incorporated the non-profit, Hygienic Art, Inc. produced the yearly Hygienic Art Shows rallied a grassroots effort of community volunteers to save the building and purchased it in 1998. The building was completely gutted and rebuilt to serve the community with six affordable live-in studios for emerging artists and four public fine art galleries. Hygienic Art Galleries opened in January of 2000 for the 21st annual Hygienic Art show. The building and the vision of Hygienic Art now stands as a testament to community activism.

Hygienic Art also offers New England’s largest Mural Walking Tour! Explore downtown New London by foot and check out all 24 murals along the way.

Address: 79 Bank St, New London, CT
Distance from Water Taxi Landing: 0.2 miles
Phone number: (860) 443-8001
Hours: Thu – Sat: 12 – 7pm, Sun: 12 – 4pm
Admission: Free (unless ticketed events are taking place)

St. James Episcopal Church

St. James Episcopal Church stands on the corner of Huntington and Federal Streets in New London, CT. It was built in 1850 of red New Jersey freestone and the Gothic Revival edifice was designed by architect Richard Upjohn. This is the third building the congregation has called home. Many of the parishioners at the time it was built were citizens who enjoyed the benefits of the very successful whaling and ensuing manufacturing industries in 19th and 20th century New London. Because of several benefactors, St. James has six stained glass windows designed by Louis Comfort Tiffany. This is the largest collection of Tiffany windows that can be seen in one building in all of New England. Today, multiple services are offered during the week both in person and virtually.

Address: 76 Federal St, New London, CT 06320
Distance from City Pier Water Taxi Landing: 0.5 Miles
Phone Number: 860-443-4989
Hours: Sunday church services are held weekly at 8AM and 10AM.

Custom House Maritime Museum

Telling the stories of New London’s waterfront, the Custom House offers lighthouse tours and boat trips, an annual chowda’fest, artifacts relating to local lighthouses, US Customs and the Amistad, along with changing exhibitions and a great Museum Shop.

New London’s 1833 US Custom House was built at the height of the City’s maritime power, when New London was the second-greatest whaling port in the world. City leaders had petitioned the U.S. Treasury to build them ‘a gem on the waterfront’. Architect Robert Mills, best-known for his design of the U.S. national Washington Monument, provided just that. Housed in the 184-year-old Robert Mills building at 150 Bank Street, today we are a nonprofit historic site—the nation’s oldest continuously operating U.S. Custom House and scene to much of the area’s maritime history. The Custom House is a lively maritime museum, preservation, and educational organization.  Through museum exhibitions and educational programs, the museum actively promotes, protects and celebrates the maritime history and current life of the port of New London and the surrounding region.

Address: 150 Bank St, New London, CT 06320
Distance from Water Taxi Landing: 0.2 miles
Phone number: (860) 447-2501
Hours: Thursday through Sunday, from 1:00 – 5:00 PM, Saturday 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM, or by appointment.

Ye Antientist Burial Ground


One of the earliest graveyards in New England and the oldest colonial cemetery in New London County, the Ye Antientist Burial Ground is the final resting place of Gurdon Saltonstall, who served as Governor of the Colony of Connecticut from 1708 to 1724, and Lucretia Harris Shaw. The wife of Captain Nathaniel Shaw, Jr., Lucretia turned her home into a hospital for soldiers returning from British prison ships.

Address: 1 Bulkeley Pl, New London, CT 06320
Distance from Water Taxi Landing: 0.8 mile

Book Now