The Pequot Chapel is a charming Victorian-era chapel built in 1870 in the Carpenter Gothic Revival style. Operating for over 150 years, it is a non-sectarian house of worship welcoming all who wish to attend Sunday services and other special events through the summer, and a traditional service of lessons and carols in December. Each Sunday features a different minister from churches as close as downtown New London and as far away as Texas. It’s also a storybook setting for weddings from May through October. Built by hotel proprietor Henry Crocker, it provided churchgoing guests of the Pequot House a new option on Sundays, saving them from a tedious 45-minute horse and buggy ride to downtown churches three miles away. Incorporated in 1872, the deed was turned over to a Board of Trustees, which continues to operate and maintain the Chapel today. Pequot Chapel stands as a symbol of a cultural heritage in the best New England tradition. Pequot Chapel is blessed with two stained glass windows by Louis Comfort Tiffany. Mr. Tiffany was a regular summer visitor at the Pequot House and attendee of services at the Chapel.
Address: 857 Montauk Ave, New London, CT 06320
Distance from City Pier Water Taxi Landing: 2.2 Miles
Phone Number: (860) 442-0812
Hours: Sunday church services are held weekly at 11:00 AM June through Labor Day.
Chapel Tours: Private tours must be arranged in advance.