The Transition Team

When the Steering Committee held its first meeting in October of 2012, it consisted of Avery-Copp House board members and major funders. Its members also included individuals who were involved in earlier efforts to develop the park, municipal staff, officials, and stakeholders from both sides of the Thames River. Its original purpose was to work with the Yale Urban Design Workshop on the creation of a collaboration with other historic sites. It grew to become a sounding board for Yale’s creation of the Heritage Park Report and a forum for helping to move the park forward.

It met on a monthly basis until 2015 when it began to meet quarterly. Its work then transferred to the Transition Team, which was organized to form the non-profit that will work in collaboration with the sites on both sides of the Thames River to develop the park. Several members of the Steering Committee are now on the Transition Team, to ensure continuity.

Transition Team Tasks

The goal of the Transition Team is to set up a new nonprofit organization that will work in partnership with the CT DEEP and others to complete and manage the Thames River Heritage Park (TRHP).

Specific tasks are to:

1. Develop a timeline of less than one year, tasks, and name associated with each task
2. Create a working name for the new nonprofit
3. Secure nonprofit status for the new entity
4. Secure an interim fiduciary agent
5. Draft bylaws
6. Draft scope of work
7. Prepare mission and vision statements and strategic plan
8. Select the founding board of directors
9. Establish standing committees and roles and responsibilities for each
10. Create a fundraising plan, including funding sources and target amounts, and initiate fundraising
11. Create operating and capital budgets
12. Locate and secure office space
13. Bring together historic sites within the park to meet with the Yale Urban Design Workshop and initiate/foster collaboration
14. Communicate progress to stakeholders and the DEEP

Thames River Heritage Park Transition Team Members

Pamela Aey Adams
Board President, Eastern Regional Tourism District

Paige R. Bronk, AICP
Economic and Comm. Development Manager

James Butler
Executive Director, Southeastern CT Council of Governments

Chris Cox

Ellen Cummings
Owner, Flavours of Life

Deborah Donovan
Tourism & Heritage Consultant

Brent Eugenides

Marian Galbraith
Mayor, City of Groton

Richard (Dick) Grahn
President/CEO National Coast Guard Museum Assoc., Inc.

Juliet Hodge
Director of Economic Development & Marketing, Southeastern CT Enterprise Region

Laura Nadelberg

Penny Newbury

Penny Parsekian
Street Smart consulting Downtown Matters & Nonprofit Strategic Development

Bob Ross
Executive Director, Office of Military Affairs

Joseph Selinger, Esq.

Tom Tyler, State Parks Division Director
Dept. Energy & Environmental Protection

Capt. Paul Whitescarver, Commander
US Naval Base New London

Former Members

Kristin Havrilla Clarke
Groton Economic Development Specialist

Capt. Carl Lahti, Commander
US Naval Base New London

Robert Yust, Community Plans & Liaison Officer
Naval Submarine Base